The regional innovation ecosystem platform can display the information that is stored in it using a variety of visualisations. In that way, the user of the platform can quickly and efficiently view trends regarding the performance of the actors in the ecosystem, the main themes of their activities and the relationships between them. Each type of analysis is supported by one or more appropriate visualisations that help the user better understand the data of the platform and make inferences about the regional innovation ecosystem.

Five types of visualisations are included in the platform and are accessible from the main menu: bar charts, pie charts, scatter plots, word clouds, and node maps. Each type of visualisation is explained in more detail below.

Bar Charts

Bar charts can be used to visualise cumulative quantitative information regarding the actors of the platform. The actors are grouped based on their type (university labs, service providers, commercial enterprises, and funding agents). The user can select the year and the quantitative variable they wish to see information about, and the visualisation is automatically updated accordingly. The variables that can be selected are:

  • The number of projects that the actors were a partner in
  • The number of staff working for the actors
  • The amount of research grants won (for university labs) or the annual turnover (for all other actor types)
  • The number of PhD students (only for university labs), and
  • The number of publications published (only for university labs)
Bar chart

Bar chart showing the number of projects undertaken by actors of each type in 2013

In the example above, the user has selected to see the number of projects in which the actors of the platform were involved during the year 2013. Here the user can quickly identify exact values (for example, that university labs as a whole took part in 90 projects in 2013) and also make comparisons between actor types (seeing, in this case, that commercial enterprises and university labs were the most active actor types in 2013 with respect to the number of projects they were involved in).

Pie Charts

Pie charts show the same types of information as bar charts, but allow for even more efficient comparisons between the actor types. By hovering with the mouse over each area of the pie chart, the user can see the exact number that is represented by that area. In the example below, the user has selected to see the turnover/amount of research grants of the actors for the year 2013.

Pie chart showing the turnover/research grants of the actors in 2013

Pie chart showing the turnover/research grants of the actors in 2013

Scatter Plots

Scatter plots are able to show the same quantitative information as bar charts and pie charts, but have the advantage of displaying two variables at a time, in a two-dimensional plot. Using scatter plots, the user can identify correlations between variables for the actors in the platform. Because they represent actors as single points in the diagram, they are able to display information about each actor independently (in contrast to bar charts and pie charts that display cumulative information about each actor type). By hovering over each point, a tooltip with the name of the actor represented is displayed, along with the exact values of the two variables for that actor.

Scatter plot showing number of projects and number of staff for the actors in 2012

Scatter plot showing number of projects and number of staff for the actors in 2012

In the example above, the user chose to display the number of projects and the number of staff for the actors in the year 2012. Here, the user can get an idea about the distribution of the actors in regard to the projects undertaken and the staff they employ, and one can also identify a possible positive correlation between those two variables (i.e. that actors employing more staff tend to participate in more projects).

Word Cloud

Word clouds show the most frequently used words in all the posts of the platform, or alternatively in posts belonging to a specific thematic area. Most frequently appearing words are shown in larger font, allowing the user to get a feeling about the main themes discussed in each thematic area, or, in other words, what the posts in that area are mostly about. The user selects the thematic area they want (or “All Thematic Areas” to select all of the thematic areas at once) and the relevant word cloud fills the rest of the page. In the example below, the user selected to see the word cloud for posts in the thematic area of “Electrical and computer engineering”. Some of the words that stand out in this area are “business”, “data” and “management”.

Word cloud

Word cloud for posts in the thematic area of electrical and computer engineering

Node Map

The node map is able to visualise the relationships between the actors of the platform, i.e. which actors have collaborated with each other in projects during one or more years. In that way, it is easy to identify groups of actors working together, as well as which actors are connected the most with others. Using checkboxes, the user can select one or more years for which to display the relevant collaborations, and can also filter the results to show collaborations involving partners in Ukraine, Belarus, or either. The node map is updated automatically after every selection and the nodes can also be dragged around with the mouse, creating a more interactive view. In the example below, the user chose to show collaborations involving either Ukrainian or Belarusian partners that took place in 2013 and 2014. In this case, one can identify eight groups of collaborators (one large group involving 11 actors, two middle-sized ones involving 6-7 actors, and five smaller ones involving 2-4 actors).

Node map

Node map showing relationships between actors during 2013 and 2014

Платформа для региональных инновационных экосистем может отображать хранящуюся в ней информацию при помощи различных видов визуализации. Например, пользователь платформы может быстро и эффективно просматривать сведения о популярных направлениях, основанные на активности и результатах участников экосистемы, основные виды деятельности участников и отношения между ними. Каждый вид анализа представляется в форме одной или нескольких визуализаций, которые помогают пользователю лучше понять данные платформы и сделать выводы о региональной инновационной экосистеме.

Платформа включает в себя пять видов визуализации, которые доступны из главного меню: гистограммы, круговые диаграммы, точечные диаграммы, облако слов и карта связей. Каждый тип визуализации подробно описан ниже.

Гистограммы

Гистограммы могут использоваться для представления суммарной количественной информации об участниках платформы. Участники группируются по их типу (лаборатории университетов, поставщики услуг, коммерческие организации, финансирующие организации). Пользователи могут выбрать год и количественный параметр, по которому они хотели бы просмотреть информацию, и информация автоматически визуализируется согласно заданному параметру. Можно выбрать следующие параметры:

  • Количество проектов, в которых участник был партнером
  • Численность персонала, задействованного у участников
  • Количество научно-исследовательских грантов (для лабораторий университетов) или годовой оборот (для всех остальных типов участников)
  • Количество аспирантов и докторантов (только для лабораторий университетов), и
  • Количество публикаций (только для лабораторий университетов)
Гистограммы

гистограмма, показывающая количество проектов участников каждого типа в 2013 году

В указанном выше примере пользователь выбрал просмотр количества проектов, в которых участники платформы принимали участие в 2013 году. Здесь пользователь может быстро получить точные данные (например, что лаборатории университетов в общей сложности участвовали в 90 проектах за 2013 год), а также провести сравнение между типами участников (в данном случае пользователь видит, что коммерческие организации и лаборатории университетов были наиболее активными участниками в 2013 году по количеству проектов, в которых они участвовали).

Круговые диаграммы

Круговые диаграммы

Круговая диаграмма, показывающая годовой оборот/исследовательские гранты участников в 2013 году

Круговые диаграммы отображают ту же информацию, что и гистограммы, но с их помощью можно проводить еще более эффективные сравнения между типами участников. При наведении указателя мыши на каждую часть круговой диаграммы, пользователь может увидеть точное количество, представленное данной частью диаграммы. В примере ниже, пользователь выбрал просмотр годового оборота/количества исследовательских грантов за 2013 год.

Точечные диаграммы

Точечные диаграммы могут показывать количественную информацию, как гистограммы и круговые диаграммы. Их преимущество заключается в том, что они могут отображать две величины одновременно в двумерном графике. С помощью точечных диаграмм пользователь может определять связи между параметрами для участников платформы. Так как в диаграмме участники представлены в виде точек, то информация отображается по каждому участнику отдельно (в отличие от гистограмм и круговых диаграмм, которые выводят сводную информацию по каждому типу участника). При наведении указателем мыши на точку, появляется всплывающее описание с именем участника, а также точные значения двух параметров по выбранному участнику.

очечные диаграммы

Точечная диаграмма, показывающая количество проектов и численность персонала участников платформы в 2012 году

В приведенном выше примере, пользователь выбрал просмотр количества проектов и численность персонала участников платформы в 2012 году. Здесь пользователь может ознакомиться с информацией о распределении участников относительно проектов и сведениях о нанятом участниками персонале. Также можно определить возможную положительную взаимосвязь между двумя параметрами (например, что участники, которые нанимают больше персонала, принимают участие в большем количестве проектов).

Облако слов

Облако слов показывает наиболее часто используемые слова во всех публикациях платформы, или же в публикациях, относящихся к определенной тематической области. Наиболее часто появляющиеся слова отображаются большим шрифтом, что позволяет пользователю понять, какие основные обсуждения ведутся в каждой из тематических областей. Другими словами, пользователь получает представление о том, что в основном обсуждается в той или иной области. Пользователь выбирает интересующую его тематическую область (или «Все тематические области» для выбора всех тематических областей), и облако слов заполняет остальную часть страницы. В приведенном ниже примере пользователь выбрал просмотр облака слов для публикаций в тематической области «Электротехническая и компьютерная инженерия». Слова, которые выделяются на фоне других в этой области: «бизнес», «данные» и «менеджмент».

Облако слов

Облако слов для сообщений в тематической области электротехническая и компьютерная инженерия

Карта связей

Карта связей позволяет визуализировать отношения между участниками платформы. С ее помощью можно увидеть, какие участники сотрудничали друг с другом в проектах в течение одного года или нескольких лет. Благодаря карте связей можно легко определить группы участников, работающих вместе, а также увидеть, какие участники наиболее тесно сотрудничают с другими. Пользователь может выбрать один год или несколько лет, по которым требуется отобразить соответствующие совместные проекты, а также может отфильтровать результаты для показа общих проектов с участием партнеров из Украины, Беларуси или каждой из этих стран по отдельности. Карта связей обновляется автоматически после выбора, а точки отображения связей можно перемещать мышью, чтобы создать более интерактивный вид. В приведенном ниже примере пользователь выбрал просмотр совместных проектов с участием партнеров из Украины и Беларуси, которые проходили в 2013 и 2014 годах. В данном случае отображаются восемь групп сотрудничающих партнеров (одна большая группа, включающая в себя 11 участников, две группы средней величины, включающие в себя 6-7 участников и 5 небольших групп с 2-4 участниками).

Карта связей

Карта связей, отображающая отношения между участниками в течение 2013 и 2014 годов

Следующие визуализации доступны: